jpmurad

Ride to End MS

In Onward on October 3, 2008 at 7:05 am

In about a week, I will be riding in a 150 bike ride from Irvine to San Diego.  The race will take place in two legs: Day 1 – 100 mile (century ride) with 800ft elevation gain, Day 2 – 50 mile bike ride through Torrey Pines in La Jolla.  I joined the ride with mixed purposes, as I do many things.  I have been looking for a way to use my athleticism as a means of service.  I like supporting the cause of MS, although it was the ride that drew me.  I think this ride will challenge me physically.  It will be my first 100 mile ‘Century’ ride, let alone following it up with fifty the next day!

The most challenging part of the ride will be fundraising.  This has been an activity that I have avoided like the plague.  Growing up, I have avoided activities that involved fundraising (i.e. missions trips, school drives, non-profit activities, etc.).  This is a stretching challenge for me, requiring humility and faith.  The goal is not enormous, but it is more than I can handle on my own.

So far, I have received a hugely supportive response!  I was shocked to find that within one day of sending the emails to family and friends, I had raised 85% of my goal.  Even though this reflects the generosity of my family and friends, I wondered what would open up for me if I did not let fundraising hold me back from big dreams.  I wonder what other visions people would get behind if I could connect them.

Tomorrow, I am heading out for a training ride, hoping to do over 80 miles.  Finishing well is the second major challenge of the ride.

Leave a Reply

