jpmurad

The Plot Thickens

In Faintly Fiction on October 21, 2008 at 8:48 pm

I was having a conversation today with a friend about writing.  He asked some questions of a story I am writing: What is the tagline (PR blurb)?  What experience/emotion do you want to leave your audience with?  What do you want to say in your last paragraph?  Who are the main characters?  Will there be romance?  What are the subplots? Et Cetera.

Given, he did not ask all these questions at once or even in the same way.  However, I did leave the conversation with all of these thoughts in my head.  These were clarifying questions.  They would provide him with more clarity.  But, I am also finding that the questions he asked will permit me more clarity.  That is, if I choose to wrestle with these questions I will have more clarity.  Seems like a counterintuitive way of loving.  On the one hand, I was squirming under the weight of his questions.  On the other hand, I am set free to find answers for these questions.

So, now I am ‘free’ to get clear on my plot, my characters, and my desired impact on my audience.  I get the sense that the conversation gave me a glimpse at some structure to consider as I move forward with the book.  Next steps, I would like to get more clear on my structure.  So, I am committed to writing a last paragraph of my book by Sunday night.  In addition, I will outline the book’s progression (chapters) by Sunday.  Over and out!

  1. Hey Josh, looks like you are on your way to a great adventure. God has a plan for your life. I can’t confirm that writing is the plan, but I believe the pursuit of writing is. As you go forward in your pursuit, God will reveal His plan. I am excited to see where God takes you.

    Oh by the way, did I tell you when we toured Margaret Mitchell’s home ( Gone with the Wind) they told us that she wrote her last chapter first? Then the chapter before that etc, etc. Interesting approach, but obviously worked for her! Something to consider. If you know where you want to end up, start there then develop your story backwards to fit??

Leave a Reply

