jpmurad

Last Day of School

In Onward on November 12, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Remember the last day of school when you were in junior high or high school?  I anticipated it for weeks, excited for the summer and the downtime.  I often walked out of the heavy-metal double doors throwing my hands up like the victor of some competition.  I had successfully completed another grade!  More honestly, I was looking forward to the summer break.

This high was usually followed with a let down.  I mean, I did not see the same people every day.  Sometimes, I missed the rigid daily schedule that provided a promise of connection with classmates.  In one way or another, we had all agreed to ‘show up’, no matter how reluctantly.

I was thinking about this transition when I walked out of work today.  After today, I have 10 working days, eight-and-one-half hours remaining.  But, who is counting?  I thought about all the times I have agreed to ‘show up’ with coworkers; and they have done the same.  How many more times would I walk down the industrial-carpeted hallways?  For that matter, I wondered how many times I already have.

Essentially, the last eleven workdays will take place over the next three weeks.  So, technically, I am midway through my last full work week.  Every week from here on out will only be partial.  As I am hearing the amount of conversations I have had about this (in my own head), it seems a bit obsessive.  Regardless, my time is coming to an end; my sun is setting; my projects are closing.  It is ironic that I sometimes feel an anxious accountability for some of the projects I am on.  I want to be remembered.  I will miss connecting with my old coworkers (however ready I am to leave).

With the opening up of this ‘break’, I am filled with possibilities.  I am excited about taking off with writing, honing my craft and become more sensitive to cultural trends.  I would like to spend more regular time studying cultural icons (I.e. magazine articles, newpapers, movies, bestselling books).  In addition, I want to learn more about the Renaissance.  I have the sense this summer break will lead into a sort of cultural Renaissance for me.

  1. Josh,

    I happened to check out your web site tonight after seeing your e-mail again (cleaning it out!!). Anyways, I had no idea you committed to your creative writing venture full-time! I wish you the best of luck…and I’m quite envious of your boldness in satisfying your creative writing ambitions. I’m curious to see what you’ll accomplish in the next few months. I’ll definitely have to check out your work when it’s finished. Hope you and Lindsay are doing great!

Leave a Reply

