jpmurad

Here’s to a New Year!

In Eclipse on January 1, 2009 at 4:42 pm

I will be referring to this post as ‘commitments’ for the upcoming year, rather than ‘resolutions’, which carry with them a fatalistic mentality.  I am committing to these practices for the new year (in some cases I will list the new way of being that I will need to shift into).  Since a year can be a long time, I plan to re-evaluate how I have done after a 3 month time period.  So, here they are (in no specific order):

  1. Enjoy writing and finishing my story of Alandria (disciplined, focus, creative and fun)
  2. Keep email inbox and our work room free of clutter throughout the year (dynamic and forward moving)
  3. Re-incorporate soccer into my life weekly (getting into match shape, grace-filled, patient, perservering)
  4. Run a marathon
  5. Memorize Psalm 27
  6. Read Oswald Chambers as  a daily devotional this year
  7. Hold quarterly days/weekends of solitude (retreats) for reflection/connection with my Dad
  8. Devote myself to the discipline of Study:
  • Sacred text
  • Foreign cultures
  • Own Culture
  • Myself
  • Study retreats
  • Study fiction and Novel writing (Dostoevsky, Tolstoy) including criticism
  • Devote 1 hour / day or 5 hours / week to the discipline.
  1. Be confident and courageous in relationships
  2. Believe in God’s riches (using this year for investment)

For the purpose of staying on track with these commitments, I will reserve some time on February 22nd (Sunday) as a day for a pulse check.  Happy 2009 to all!

    Leave a Reply

