jpmurad

Rapid Descent into Madness

In Film Reviews on January 17, 2009 at 2:28 am

My eyes restlessly scatter over pages.  Words.  Information.  Frantically, from within, I scan countless schindlers-list-dvdcoverwebsites.  Searching, hoping for something new.  And there is  silence.  Time walks on, blindly.

I watched Schindler’s List this evening with Lindsay.  It has been on my to-watch list for quite some time.  This is the second movie that I have seen more recently with direct illustrations of Nazi Germany (the other being Ben Stein’s Expelled).  The movie was an illustration of what I would call the ‘Rapid Descent into Madness’.  The progression of Polish Jews being moved from the country-side, to the ghettos, to concentration camps and eventually to death camps.

At the forefront of this Nazi-led process was a business man named Oskar Schindler, who effectively smuggled specific Jews from concentration camps, using both his wealth and prominence as a war-supporting entrepreneur.  This man’s turn from extravagance to compassion, challenges my presence during the difficult economic times in our culture (and abroad).

It seems like a storm is brewing.  For the last hour, I have been reading over the biographies of Karl Barth and Dietriech Bonhoeffer.  I cannot yet put my finger on it, but I feel an urgency to be making a stand as the Church.  Perhaps such revolutions of thought and movements of culture are only precursors to a looming evil.  In any case, I am concerned and aware of our ability, as a people, to rapidly descend into madness.

Leave a Reply

