jpmurad

Turf and Tan

In Uncategorized on April 24, 2009 at 8:16 am

For all my straining to have a vision for the future, I was reminded last night about how simply vision comes.  Reminds me of Forest Gump working his way through life.  Work hard.  Love well.  Be different.  I would rather, at the end of my life, be amazed at the diversity of experiences I’ve had, than have lived in the security of a daily routine.  How much better to live with adventure, uncertainty and mystery!

Onward.  Lindsay and I are going to the desert this afternoon.  (Not to be confused with dessert!  English can be so wierd.)  Rancho Mirage to be exact.  Our journey takes us to a golf complex condo of her parent’s friends.  Over the weekend we will be attending the Stagecoach festival, a country ordeal in the midst of Palm Desert.  I’m not a huge country music fan.  My only affinity for country came through the line-dancing.  Lindsay and I met through a group of friends while line-dancing.  I appreciate the dancing; because, there is some sort of structure and you can dance as individuals or as partners.  The music takes back seat.  So, I’m more looking forward to the beauty of the desert, than the music of the festival.  It should be an interesting experience.

Also, I get to connect with a pastor buddy who works out in Palm Springs.  He heads up the missions teams and has travelled to some remote countries.  I challenged him one time about what he would do for a living if he were not a pastor.  He said, ‘Honestly, dude.  I couldn’t see myself doing anything else.’  He drives a motorcycle and has his own beef with church and religion.  And at the same time he has a love-hate deal going on.  Interesting.

So far, I have been training once a week with my OC PDL team.  I am assistant coach with a good friend from college.  My body is feeling it today!  Many of the new fields have a turf/rubber surface that feels hard on my joints.  (Not acknowledging that I sound old).  We’ll see how my body adjusts to three trainings next week.

Leave a Reply

