jpmurad

Finish Line

In Uncategorized on July 8, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Before I realized it, I had written the last line to my novel tonight.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  Many months ago I had engaged in that suggested practice of writing my last paragraph first.  So, I knew the line, it was just a surprise when I came to it.  Over the past two days, I have probably put in over ten hours of work to finish this draft.

My final deadline for the initial draft was extended to this evening; because, we leave tomorrow for a two week vacation.  I am proud to have kept to my commitment!  I have pushed back the deadline several times, discovering something new each time that challenged me.

Now that I have the ‘shell’ laid out, I have a distinct sense that I could enjoy the process of writing a book again.  It fits the description others have had of a marathon.  I learned a lot about myself.  I hit the ‘wall’ and did not want to continue.  With the support of friends, I was able to keep moving forward.  (Writing is much better for me when done in community) Lastly, even though I would say this has been a grueling hall, I’m totally up for doing it again.  It has been worth the pain of commitment.  I’m glad to reach this milestone.

Keep advancing.

Leave a Reply

