jpmurad

Intoxicating

In Uncategorized on October 7, 2009 at 8:21 pm

My irregular trips to the chiropractor brought me to Dr. Roc’s office today for my last official visit before the Chicago marathon.  He helps line up all the joints and sinews that are, technically speaking, “out of whack.”  At the same time, Dr. Roc is a phenomenal conversationalist.  If I had a breakdown of my charges for each visit, I think it would be safe to say that 50% value is the Chiropractic and the other 50% is the conversation.  Seriously though, you can’t put a price tag to these things.

As I was musing about my upcoming trip to one of the ‘top four marathons in the world’, I asked him, “What do you think I could write about the experience?”  He was quick to reassure me, “I’m not going to give you the answer to this one.  When you are there, you will know.”  After a brief bout of feeling clingy for asking the question, I decided to see what came up.  And that is the kind of presence Dr. Roc brings to his appointments.  He may not know what it is going to look like, but rest assured that he will find provision for conversation (and healing).  This is the same man, who, when I told him I had finished a long run of 19 or so miles, said, “It’s intoxicating isn’t it[referring to the run].  Just think about it.  You have run farther than most people drive.”

Leave a Reply

