jpmurad

In Between Employment: From Inaction to Momentum – Part II

In Eclipse on October 19, 2009 at 11:40 am

With recent unemployment rates spiking to ten percent, many job seekers have adopted the question, “Why did this happen to me?”  Times of my job searching have been filled with frantic behaviors, compulsive online applications, disregarding positions for paychecks and choosing shallow reading over research.  Some people may find themselves unemployed and desperately seeking their next position.  Others of you may be in a job and would like to create a plan to start something new.  In this series of posts, I will share movements that can transform us in the job search process.

From Inaction to Momentum

The past couple of days I have been resisting writing this post.  Ironic, that the shift we are considering here is going from Inaction to Momentum!  Funny, how the very things I desire, I can also resist.  Can you relate?  Maybe you are looking for employment or considering a change of employment.  Whichever the case, putting the ‘flesh-and-bones’ on your dream requires action.

“Hello!?!” A voice yelled at me on the other end of the line.  My coach and I were talking about the actions I would need to reach my financial goals in the upcoming months.  Actually, he was talking.  I was piecing together my options like a puzzle.  “What’s it going to take…for you to know what you are committed to?” he repeated.  Paralysis set in.  I had expressed doubt about my current course.  My lack of action reflected no course at all.  I had set a high goal.   When circumstances did not appear to compliment my vision, it was easier for me to wait indecisively.  Henry Cloud, a psychologist and author, once told a client:

“Fixing the next step in your career is not going to come in the mail, and neither is the man (or woman) of your dreams.  Yet you always expect that someone else is going to make the first move to create the solution.  And if they do not, you stay stuck in the problem, resentful and wishing life were treating you better.”

Taking action strikes a blow at passivity.  As Cloud mentions, we can choose to wait for things to happen (perhaps living in fantasy).  Or we can choose to Do Something; anything, given that it directly relates to our goal.  Decisive action actually offends the fantasy that only leads to heart sickness.  Consider the old Hebrew proverb:  “Hope deferred makes the heart sick; but longing fulfilled is a tree of life.”  Living in fantasy defers our hope.  Whereas, taking deliberate action opens up possibilities for a new outcome in our lives.

Momentum, on the other hand, happens when we take continual action toward our vision.  As I have been writing my first book, I notice how resistant I can be to getting in the chair and writing.  In fantasy, I think, “Maybe the work will finish itself.”  I start to get bogged down by the lack of progress.  Whereas, when I make some time every day to write, I feel a momentum behind my work.  Even if I just write one sentence, I am at peace with the forward movement.

Have you noticed what tends to waylay you from action?  Maybe, you turn to fantasy because it seems safer. (I.e. Maybe today, I’ll run into the perfect job/employer?) Ambiguity can also be a way to avoid necessary action. (I.e. I’m not sure what I want to do) Whether we are searching for a new place of employment or desiring to create new relationships, we need to be clear on the actions that will create forward movement.  Ask yourself, “What is the single most important action, I can take today, that will move me toward my goal?”  Then, act!  Boldly and decisively.  In our next post, we will consider the movement from Certainty to Discovery.

Leave a Reply

