jpmurad

Living in Abundance: Time

In Unrealized on December 1, 2009 at 10:38 am

A couple of years ago, my wife and I held annual passes to Disney’s theme parks.  They worked great for an adventurous date night.  After a meal, we would head over to the parks to walk around, talk and get on a ride or two.  There was no pressure to see everything in one day!  Or frustration about waiting in a long line.  We simply enjoyed each other’s company.

Sometimes, I wish life were that easy.  Frequently, I find myself rushing to ‘the next thing’.  Tired of waiting in lines, and generally scattered in a crowd.  Seems like I never accomplish ALL the tasks on my to-do list.  Strange how I can hold myself in contempt for not doing all the things that I think I should do – like have an empty email box, make progress on my writing, marketing my business, etc.  Does the list ever end?

Lately, I’ve been experimenting with the ‘annual pass’ concept in my daily routine.  What if I was focused more on relationships throughout my day?  The paradigm shift is from limited daily time to abundance beyond what I can see today.  I wonder if my anxiety level and frustration would go down.  I could perhaps do the most important things, while building relationships with others.  Work becomes more of a partnership, rather than a competition.

So a question to live in might be: how are my daily actions reflecting a scarcity of time?  What would my relationships and work look like if I perceived an abundance of time beyond just today?

Leave a Reply

